Muslim dating   FREE Sign up   Sign in   Search   Blog / Forum   Help / Faq  
 
Muslim Blogs > Revoed_NURFITRAH's blogs > GELATIN - HALAL AND HARAM
GELATIN - HALAL AND HARAM Sort by:
Author
revoed_NURFITRAH
Available only
to logged in members

total posts: 161
Posted on Wed, Dec 06, 2006 22:34

In the Name of Allah, The Gracious, The Merciful. Below are comments made by Muslim Scholars about Gelatin and extracted from articles: As far as the Islamic ruling on gelatin is concerned, Dr Su'aad Salih Professor of Fiqh at Al-Azhar University, gives the following fatwa: "Gelatin is a brittle substance extracted by boiling bones, hoofs and animal tissues. So it depends on the animal tissues. So it depends on the animal itself. If it is an animal whose meat is Halal, such as cow, camel, sheep and so on, then gelatin is Halal, and so is the case with all foods prepared from it. However, if the animal is of Haram meat such as pigs, that the gelatin made of it is unlawful. Thus, gelatin is Halal unless it is derived from an animal whose meat is Haram to consume. This is the ruling on gelatin extracted from animals. As for vegetable and artificial gelatin, they are Halal and there is nothing wrong in eating and using them." Below comment made by Sheikh 'Abdus-Sattar F.Sa'eed, Professor at Al-Azhar University: However, if the animal is slaughtered by means of electric shock, suffocation and other unlawful ways, then the meat is Haram and gelatin is Haram too, because it is a product of that unlawful animal. Below Additional from an article: Not all gelatin is made from pork. Some of it is made from cow, lamb, horse bones, while other gelatin is plant based (seaweed and agar-agar). Below are My personal view: 1. It's better if we know if the animal is slaughtered in Islamic Rulings. 2. It is safer to take gelatin made from vegetable origins. 3. Some products that use gelatin could be in bakings, medicines eg. gelatin capsule, gel-coat capsule, etc...... 4. In Singapore and Malaysia, food products and medicines etc.....could have the LOGO HALAL on their packaging, which is certified by the Muslim Authority of Singapore and Malaysia. 4. I ever saw logo Halal from countries like Thailand, Phillipines, Australia, China but not sure of other countries...... 5. Whatever we eat and drink, will enter our body and become blood and flesh, so as Muslims we need to be careful and selective........ May Allah guide us, and make sure that whatever enter into our body are Halal and bless by Allah, Amiin. Wallahu a'lam ALLAH KNOWS BEST.


Reply / add comments   Quote   Report abuse    0 up Bookmark and Share
hfegf33
Available only
to logged in members

total posts: 1
Posted on Tue, Mar 18, 2008 18:46

this fatwa i am not taking it because al qaradawi said that it is halal


Reply / add comments   Quote   Report abuse    0 up Bookmark and Share
talibulislam
Available only
to logged in members

total posts: 141
Posted on Thu, Dec 07, 2006 20:21

thanks sister 4 such useful information jazakallahkhair


Reply / add comments   Quote   Report abuse    0 up Bookmark and Share
Follow - Email me when people comment